Beauty and the Billionaire by Jessica Clare

In the second installment of the Billionaire Boys Club series we follow perhaps the most guarded member of the club, Hunter Buchanan, and his romance with Gretchen Petty. This modern day version of Beauty and the Beast is a whole hell of a lot more steamy than the Disney musical we all know and love. There are no dancing candlesticks or talking clocks. But there is some hot sex and rose garden lovin’ as a substitute, so…I see no problem here. beauty and the billionaire

In the first book of this series, we were offered a brief glimpse of how this love story would begin. While Gretchen and her friend Bronte are having what they believe to be a private conversation about their love lives, they are unaware that they are secretly being overheard by a very troubled billionaire. It is during this conversation that Gretchen reveals she is tired of dating the same superficial men over and over, and how physical appearance always seems to be at the forefront of her decision to date these boring men. What she wouldn’t give to find the perfect man, even if he wasn’t beautiful. Enter our beast.

Hunter was involved in a terrible accident as a young child, leaving him both physically and emotionally scarred. When he overhears the beautiful Gretchen say how she could love a man who wasn’t physically perfect, he decides to put her statement to the test. He hires her for a peculiar job working at his enormous estate in the hopes of wooing the young beauty. At first, his scars prevent him from interacting with her directly, but the chemistry between these two is so strong that they can’t stay separated for long.

I didn’t think it was possible, but I think I actually enjoyed this novel much more than the first one. There’s nothing like a retelling of a classic fairy tale, and even though we might know how this tale will eventually end, there are definitely a few surprises along the way. The most noticeable of which would have to be that Hunter is a virgin. When we learn about how self-conscious he is about his physical scars, and that he has difficulty trusting others, it’s understandable that he would have had difficulty being intimate with a woman. Well, Gretchen is more than willing to show him a thing or two when it comes to physical intimacy.

I love when a romance author chooses to have an experienced woman paired with a less-experienced man. Talk about role reversal! I think the reason I love it so much is that 1) it’s rare and therefore unique, and 2) let’s just say when the man gets a taste of what he’s been missing he wants to play some catch up. And Hunter has a lot of time to make up for. Hot damn these two are sexy as all get out!

In addition to the graphic erotic scenes littered throughout the novel, the tale of these two love birds is also extremely romantic. I definitely sighed a few times. Hunter’s character in particular is surprising in his hard exterior, and yet his inner ability to be so sweet. I mean, the dude keeps a rose garden, and presents Gretchen with a different kind of rose every day. Please excuse me while I throw some cold water on my face.

This novel might be hotter than the first, but I believe it also has a much deeper and emotional story to tell. At times, Hunter’s life story is so devastating, and the impact it has on his relationship with Gretchen is so sad that I just want to give the guy a big hug. Come on you sexy beast, bring it in!

Series: Billionaire Boys Club, book 2

Should you read it? Hell yeah! You don’t even really need to read the first book before you tackle this one, but the whole series is so amazing you might as well read it in order.

Smut Level: We have a possessive alpha male virgin alone in a giant mansion with a charismatic young beauty. What do you think?!

Get it on Amazon: Click Here

5 thoughts on “Beauty and the Billionaire by Jessica Clare

  1. I’m currently fighting my urge to drop Stranded with the Billionaire. Nonetheless, I’m still seriously considering reading this one. I have a thing for scarred dudes (so sue me) and Gretchen seems rather interesting. However, I’m not sure how I feel about the rose garden and the virgin part, though. I’ll think about it ๐Ÿ™‚ “deeper and emotional story” might push me towards it

    Like

    • I really liked the fact that he wasn’t physically perfect. It makes it more interesting than just another story about 2 beautiful people falling in love. I’ll admit, the rose garden bit is quite strange when you think about it. Almost creepy to have this closed off dude tending roses. Hmm, I may need to rethink this.

      Like

      • I gave up rethinking romances, frankly. I often enjoy a book while reading it, but then writing a review often changes my mind about it. I think romance novels of this sort are meant to be enjoyed in the moment, not in retrospect ๐Ÿ™‚ BTW. Love your blog. It’s like a great compilation of titles and the categories are very useful!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

