Outlander Throwback Thursday

Consider this my first kind of throwback Thursday post. That’s a thing, right? It relates to actor Sam Heughan, who plays Jamie in Outlander, the new series on Starz based on the book by Diana Gabaldon. I shared this little throwback tidbit with my roommate the other day, and we both had quite a giggle over it, so I thought I might as well share it with all of you wonderful people πŸ™‚ If you aren’t familiar with the plot of Outlander, or the recent Starz premier, then for God’s sake please crawl out from the rock you’ve been living under and join us in the real world. It’s nice out here, I promise. We have ice cream.

Believe it or not, I am straying away from my romance novel theme for this post, and focusing solely on the new TV show, specifically the actors involved. As I mentioned, they have adapted the story of Outlander for the big screen, and it is something I personally have been waiting over seven years for them to do. And they have cast a sexy man of an actor for the role of Jamie. His name is Sam Heughan. Below is his glorious photo.

sam_heughanWell, hello there. In the show they have given him longer red hair. And a kilt. Observe:

sam-heughan-jamie-fraser-outlandershirtless-sam-heughan-outlander-trailer

Oh my. That’s nice, isn’t it? He’s definitely got that whole smolder look thing going on. Now, when I first heard that they had cast Mr. Heughan as the most important role of Jamie, I was honestly a little concerned. The reason for this is because I had already seen him in a movie. Enter throwback. The movie was called A Princess for Christmas, and it premiered on the Hallmark channel in 2011. That’s right, the freakin’ Hallmark Channel! It also happened to be one of the worst movies I’ve ever seen in my life. No joke. Now get ready ladies, and maybe even a few gentlemen, this is what Mr. Heughan looked like in that film:

a-princess-for-christmas10Will you look at that. Look at it! The hair! Whatever the heck he’s doing with his hand! He hadn’t quite gotten the smolder look down yet. Let’s do a side-by-side comparison shall we?

APrincessforChristmas-26eOutlander_Cast_Jamie_420x560_v2

Mr. Heughan, you have definitely improved with age. So have your acting skills. I’m happy to say that his performance as Jamie in Outlander is fabulous. He’s also got a lovely Scottish accent that is just yummy. Well, I hope you enjoyed this wonderful little throwback to 2011 and the world of Hallmark. I shall leave you with what I consider to be the worst scene from the movie, A Princess for Christmas. It’s a pretty short clip, only 3:15, but if you want to shorten the terribleness, just skip ahead to 2:10. In this particular scene, Mr. Heughan gets down and funky with his hip-hop dancing skills. Warning, once you watch it, you can’t un-see it. It might make you cry from laughing so hard though. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Outlander Throwback Thursday

  1. This is fantastic! I loved the book (and the first two sequels). Was very worried about the casting , but they chose well. He is utterly delicious in that kilt… Now I have a dilemma because I’m hooked but don’t want to subscribe just for one series.

    Like

  2. Before I heard about the show, I had never heard about the books. I looked it up and the whole fallen through time is really itching me to read it. I have only read a handful of romance books so I don’t know if I could do an entire series. Plus, it airs on Saturday nights and that’s UFC night… lol. I can’t really convince the hubby to switch to Outlander. Seriously considering reading it though, just give it a try.

    Like

    • I would actually just recommend reading the first book rather than the whole series. The 1st is the best, and the others are just sooo long, and nowhere near as good. As for the show, it’s tough to convince the boys to give it a try, isn’t it? You should just watch it online to enjoy all the manly kilts by yourself πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

