Therapist by Jaden Wilkes

I’ve got four words for you: what…the..fudge popsicles?! I don’t really know what this book was trying to do, but I can tell you that when it was done I felt a desperate need to watch a Disney movie with singing birds and dancing squirrels, just so that I could believe in happiness again. therapist

Alright, where do I begin? Firstly, I’d like to say that the summary to this novel was misleading. I don’t know, maybe I just read it completely wrong, but I thought that I would be presented with a sexually active therapist who engaged in morally questionable sexual activities with his patients (so far, this is true), but eventually met one patient who made him want to change his philandering ways, and just have some private couch time with her and her alone. This couldn’t be farther from the truth. Instead, he meets a figment of his imagination, similar in craziness to his inappropriate-touching mother. Our therapist here might prefer to have sex with women who have daddy issues, but this dude has mommy issues to a shocking new level of weird.

At first, I was excited that the novel was told from a male perspective, as this is pretty rare in the romance-novel world, and I always find it pretty enlightening. But good God the last thing I want to do when I come home from work is read about the crazy inner thoughts of this psycho. He warns us at the beginning that he is a sociopath. Silly me, I thought he was just being melodramatic. I think a more appropriate word to characterize him would be sexually addicted narcissistic asshole. Ok, that may be more than one word, but you catch my drift. This dude has absolutely no morals, and really has no desire to change his freaky ways. He sleeps with drunken females, couples exploring a kinkier side, rape victims, basically everybody under the sun. Except for women with eating disorders. He likes to think he has standards.

I think the reason I so thoroughly disliked this novel was because the main character did not have one redeeming quality to speak of. Very early on in the book he almost brags that he’s an asshole, but that it makes for a good read. Definitely not following the logic here. About half-way through the book I started to dread having to turn on my Kindle, and couldn’t wait for this disgusting story to finish. In the end I suppose we are meant to feel sorry for him, because there was some scheming behind the scenes by his ex-girlfriend and current girlfriend, but I still think he was always a dick. The fact that his ex was drugging him may have enhanced some of his paranoia tendencies, such as seeing a red-dressed seductress who causes pain along with pleasure, but all-in-all his underlying character was nothing to write home about. Or write about in general.

In a way, this novel reminded me of the film American Psycho with Christian Bale. We are presented with a sexually active, but extremely disturbed individual, and eventually come to question how many of his actions were real, and how many were products of his manic hallucinations. The main difference is that American Psycho was almost comical in it’s ridiculousness, but Therapist was just creepy and depressing.

Series: Thank God no!

Should You Read It? Good God no! Run away, run far far away.

Smut Level: Cheese and rice disturbing. It may have started out intriguing, but quickly became disturbing to a level where I was uncomfortable reading the multiple sex scenes.

Side Note: It’s my birthday! Happy birthday to me.

9 thoughts on “Therapist by Jaden Wilkes

  1. Happy Birthday! Keep growing and growing and growing. Soar so high that the eagles begin to fear you are competition. You’re a pretty good writer. You know how to mix the right humour into your pieces. God, I hope I sound half as cool as you in my work. Have a lovely September

    Like

  2. Happy Birthday! You know, when I first read the title of this book I read it as “the rapist”. Turns out the book is just as awful as it would have been if it were called “the rapist”. Maybe that was my intuition telling me something?

    Like

Leave a Reply

