A Broken Us by Amy Daws

Well, I would personally like to thank author Amy Daws for not only providing me with an ARC of this lovely book for review, but also for making me cry. On my birthday. In a crowded airplane. You see, I was flying home after visiting my family for my 25th b-day, and was a blubbering mess of tears by the time I finished this book. I was worried the flight attendant would think I was having a nervous breakdown! Although, to be fair, a portion of my tears may have been attributed to the fact that the middle-aged man sitting next to me blasted the same two songs on his iPod for the entirety of the flight. One of them was “I’m a Barbie Girl”. But let’s get back to the book, shall we?A Broken Us

Finley and her boyfriend Brody have been trying to have a baby for some time. When a doctor tells her that she will probably never conceive a child, she fears what Brody’s reaction to the news will be. She decides to end their relationship and move to London to live with her friend Leslie. Finley tries to start a new life for herself abroad, including exploring a possible relationship with a hot Brit named Liam, but discovers that her mind constantly wanders back to the love of her life back in the States who has no idea why she left.

Honestly, when I first read the summary of this book I was a little worried. Let’s say it together people: a-dop-tion. There’s nothing wrong with it, and practically everybody’s doing it nowadays. You could be the new Brangelina, or whatever the hell their name is. I must say though, that this book did a really good job of explaining why this option was so difficult for Finley to accept. For their entire relationship, Finley and Brody had always loved the idea of “us”. It was always “I love us”, rather than “I love you”. For Finley, to not be able to have a child that was part of each of them, to not be able to look at something which was distinctly “us” was too hard to bear. I must say this “reasoning” made me understand her decision to leave a bit more, as well as appreciate all of the women out there who go through the same difficult decision. She also feared that if Brody found out she couldn’t have a child, he would eventually leave her to find someone who could. Again, whereas normally I would be extremely frustrated with this analysis (and at times while reading I was), the book does an amazing job of relating that this thinking isn’t in any way a slight to Brody’s character, but rather reflects how Finley sees herself as less worthy for not being able to provide what every woman was designed to do. Poor girl just needs a hug!

And now for the crying. Oh…my…God. Everything was going just fine, with a few little bumps in the road, and then BAM! Well hello plot twist, I didn’t see you there. I don’t want to give anything away, but just consider yourself warned that at about 3/4 of the way through this book you will probably need a box of tissues. Or three. Just make sure you aren’t sitting on a crowded airplane when you finish this book! I’m telling ya, I was like ugly crying. Although this book did have some very sad elements, it really does show the importance of family, and having a shoulder to cry on.

If I had to nitpick and find something I wish would have been a little different in this book, it would have been Finley’s relationship with the Adamson family. After going through a terrible miscarriage years before, Mr. and Mrs. Adamson decided to adopt a young girl, who became a permanent fixture in their lives. This family has a huge impact on Finley’s outlook on her life with Brody, as well as her acceptance of not being able to have children. However, we are only offered two scenes in which Finley interacts with them, and I felt like I missed the full impact of their discussions because they were so brief. I wish we could have gone a little deeper to really appreciate the influence this family had on Finley’s decision-making.

In my opinion, the absolute best part of this novel was not Finley’s newfound independence, or the loving relationship between Finley and her ex. Oh, no. That honor would have to go to Frank. Who is he, you ask? He’s one of Finley’s new roommates in London, and is without a doubt the comic relief in this story. God, I wish I could have a drink with this dude. He’s gay, and sadly always seemed to get a full on view of Finley’s “wobbly bits”. To say he was traumatized is a bit of an understatement. Definitely one of my favorite characters in the entire book, and probably one I’ll remember for quite some time. I also loved Liam! He was so understanding and sexy as hell. So, my new goal in life is to buy a plane ticket to London, snatch up Liam for myself, and then go to the corner pub with Frank for a pint. Sound good? Yeah, I thought so too.

*ARC was provided by the author for an HONEST REVIEW.*

Series: London Lovers, Book 2

Should you read it?: In a word, yes! This book isn’t just a romance novel, but really provides insight on dealing with loss, and the importance of loved ones. But for crying out loud, just be sure to have tissues on hand.

Smut Level: I can’t really remember the last time I read a book which had so many references to ear nibbling and neck breathing. Oh my, feeling a little flushed over here.

Buy it on Amazon: Click Here

 

5 thoughts on “A Broken Us by Amy Daws

  1. Pingback: Cover Reveal: London Bound by Amy Daws | Romance Novels for the Beach

  2. Pingback: Becoming Us by Amy Daws | Romance Novels for the Beach

  3. Pingback: London Lovers Series is on Sale! | Romance Novels for the Beach

Leave a Reply

