The Summertime Madness Book Tag

I was tagged to participate in this lovely little post by Amanda N. Butler over at Ars Amandica. It’s sad to admit, but summer is officially coming to a close. Fall is upon us. When the scent of apple spice seems to permeate the air, school is in session, and the leaves change color because they’re all dying! So before we get too far gone into that delightful season, let’s have one last summery blog post!

1. Show a book with a summery cover. 

ride with meDo you know how difficult this was for me to find?! Every romance cover is either a close up shot of a man’s abs, or a couple preparing for coitus. Not that I’m complaining or anything. It’s just a little difficult to associate a season with any of those. Then whenever I did come across a season it was more often than not a wintery scene with falling snowflakes. Therefore, I know this isn’t exactly the most summery of summer covers, but it was the best I could find! Ride with Me is a delightfully romantic tale of two strangers who embark on a cross country bike trip together.

2. Pick a fictional place that would be the perfect destination for a summer holiday.

the witnessOh goodness gracious, and I thought the first one was difficult. So many of the books I read are set in real locations, so picking a fictional one was a bit tricky. In the end, I was debating back and forth between a ranch in Wyoming, or a tiny town in Arkansas. In the end I chose…Bickford, Arkansas. Featured in the Nora Roberts novel The Witness, the heroine in the novel lives in a delightfully secluded cabin in the woods, which would be perfect for me to hunker down with a few romance novels. Or fifty. But what made me utlimtately choose this location instead of a ranch in the middle of nowhere Wyoming, was that the cabin wasn’t that far from the quaint little town of Bickford. Nice to know I could still be near something resembling civilization.

hearts

3. You’re about to go on a flight for your summer holidays but you want to read a book that lasts the whole flight. What novella do you choose?

Welcome to my life! I seem to spend more time in airports than the average Joe, so this is a common real-life dilemma for me. If I had to pick one novella, it would be Hearts in Darkness by Laura Kaye. I always say it’s hands-down the best novel featuring two people trapped in an elevator. At 112 pages, you can definitely finish it in one plane ride.

4. You have a case of summertime sadness – what book do you pick to shine a smile on your face?

boycottsThis was also a tricky one to answer, but mainly because there are so many books to choose from! Any novel in the Neighbor From Hell series is pretty much a guarantee laugh riot. However, in the end I had to go with Boycotts and Barflies by Victoria Michaels. This book is freakin’ hilarious, as three male bartenders are set on finding women they can have a serious relationship with, and the women they have their sights set on have a bet on who can refrain from having sex the longest. The winner gets an expensive pair of shoes. Such a fun read!

5. You’re sitting at the beach all alone…which fictional character would be your beach babe?

Phatpuppyart.com  CompleteHeaven help me. I can only pick one? Can’t I just pick every male from one series, like the With Me in Seattle series? See, this is why I’m single. I just can’t make up my mind. Alright, my one and only beach babe would have to be…Braden Carmichael from On Dublin Street by Samantha Young. The man oozes sexual confidence, and the fact that he has a sexy ass Scottish accent would just be a fabulous bonus. Oh God, is there any way to make this a reality, because I think I just drooled a little bit.

6. To match your ice cream, you want an icy cool sidekick! Which fictional sidekick do you pick?

ellaFor this one, I would have to go with Lila Summers from the Secret of Ella and Micha series by Jessica Sorensen. The sign of a good sidekick is someone who always has your back, and can be the perfect shoulder to cry on. Of course, Lila has the added benefit of helping to instigate the perfect makeover, and I have a feeling we could have a great time people watching on the beach. And by people watch of course I mean admire the fellas in their swim trunks playing beach volleyball.

2 thoughts on “The Summertime Madness Book Tag

Leave a Reply

