What Turns you On? 

Don’t worry, I’m not asking you to divulge your deepest and darkest desires for all of the blog world to see. I’m not that much of a sicko! No, no, I’m talking about the descriptors, covers or themes you might encounter in different romance novels that make your toes curl, and have you fanning yourself because they take things to a whole new level of hotness. You might not be able to explain why you like it so much, but for some reason it just does it for ya. Let’s look at a few of mine, shall we?

References to Food

There is something about an author describing a man’s features in terms of food that I just can’t help but love. Prime example: a man with olive skin. I feel like you see this reference all the time! It’s a classic, and I love it. Recently, I’ve come across a few other food metaphors that help to make a leading man seem utterly divine. One book I just read said the man had a voice like dark chocolate fudge.

chocolate

Oh…my…God. Now, I’ve personally never been a huge fan of fudge, but when it’s used to describe a man’s voice? Mother may I?! You’ll also see that a lot of authors describe a man’s eye color in terms of food, which is just deliciously delectable. Chocolate brown. Eyes like melted caramel. I always thought I liked a man with blue eyes, but damn! I’ll take some smooth caramel eye color any day of the week. Although, maybe I just need a Milky Way bar.

Man Back and Neck Breathing

If that title doesn’t catch your attention, I don’t know what will. I usually try my damnedest not to judge a book by its cover, but I’d say I fail at that goal about 9 times out of 10. A lot of romance novel covers like to feature a man with six-pack abs, but I find I’m more drawn to those that have a man’s back as the focus. Why do I like it so much? Hell if I know! But simply look at the covers below, and tell me they don’t do something for you. Add in the detail of a woman digging her fingernails into said back, and you just know this book will drip with sensuality. Then you’ve got the covers that have a man and woman clutching each other in a gripping embrace, and the man seems to be breathing heavily on the woman’s neck. Yup, that’ll do.

scandalneck kissinghearts

Friend Theme

If a book revolves around two friends who decide to take things to the next level, I will read it. There is often an intense amount of repressed sexual tension just waiting to burst forth, so they usually make for pretty sensual reads. The fact that these lead characters were friends first means that they have a deeper emotional connection rather than a physical one based solely on sex. Add in that initial sense of the friend being “off-limits”, and you’ve got an element of the forbidden mixed in with an undeniable urge to be more than friends. Yes, and yes!

brother'boy

Well there ya have it. Those are a few romance novel features that seem to get my blood pumping every single time. I’m sure you all have some of your own, so feel free to share them in the comment section. Also, be sure to check back in next Thursday, when I discuss “What turns you off?”

3 thoughts on “What Turns you On? 

Leave a Reply

