Do You Watch Book Trailers? 

Confession: before writing this post I had never watched a book trailer before in my life. I guess I just never quite understood the point of watching a trailer when I could simply read the synopsis in 1/8 of the time.

oldbooks2_b112

But then I thought about how one of my favorite things about going to the movies is watching the previews. I absolutely love movie trailers, and will sometimes spend an unhealthy amount of time on IMDb watching all of the new trailers which are scheduled to come out this year. I could just as easily save myself 3 minutes by reading the film synopsis, but I can’t help but be drawn in by them. So why have I never felt that same draw when it comes to books?

book trailers

It’s only a guess, but I think it has something to do with the fact that one of my favorite parts of reading a book is to picture the characters in my own mind. Why would I want a trailer to influence how I see the characters?

I’ve since watched a few book trailers, and I must say I’m not too into them. They are all pretty similar, with some close-up shots of sexy bedroom eyes, romanticized font telling the synopsis throughout, and a rather cheesy song accompaniment. They might not be my thing, but what about all of you? Do you watch book trailers? If so, why, and do you have any favorites? Feel free to share!

 

Movie Popcorn

17 thoughts on “Do You Watch Book Trailers? 

  1. I keep seeing articles about promoting your work stating that, basically, people enjoy the “visual aspect that videos have to offer, so making a trailer for your book is a good way to get attention”, but I have to agree with what you said here: “They are all pretty similar, with some close-up shots of sexy bedroom eyes, romanticized font telling the synopsis throughout, and a rather cheesy song accompaniment.”

    Perhaps readers do like to see trailers, but most of the one’s I’ve seen all look the same, as if for the same book or author, and it might make me sound somehow snobbish, but I end up suffering a lot of secondhand embarrassment when I watch them. It’s not very pleasant, and in a way, it feels as if the trailer is taking away from what I’m envisioning when I read a synopsis/blurb, or try to imagine what the story is about when I look at the cover. I’m not saying that all book trailers are bad, but I’ve honestly only seen a few that I felt were “suitable” if that makes sense, so I don’t watch them overall.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I watched one an author friend of mine did several years ago. She spent a good amount of money having it produced and I didn’t really get it. I don’t see the point. A blurb you can read in a minute or less, so why produce a three- or five-minute video to say the same thing? Maybe it’s just our visual, techie society that loves them or thinks they’re a good idea?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Some readers like them. Others do not. As an author, I can’t pass up a possible opportunity to reach another fan. I’ve made two or three and my brother made a couple for me. I enjoyed making them and hope at least one person has enjoyed watching them. I’ve watched a few I enjoyed and a few that made me yawn or roll my eyes. No book trailer ever stopped me from buying a book, but at least one enticed me to buy a book I might not have purchased otherwise. If you’re an author, I wouldn’t spend a lot of money on book trailers, but I’d at least look into it. If anyone is interested, here’s a link to my youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCat7XiJKvOtjevlu8tfgOEg

    Liked by 1 person

    • You know, that is absolutely true! When I was watching these trailers, there was never one point when I thought, “Oh my gosh, this is so bad I’ll never buy this book.” Instead it was more like I just didn’t have the patience for it, so I would just turn it off and read the synopsis instead, and for me that really determined whether or not I wanted to buy the book. So you’re completely right, they might cause some readers to roll their eyes, but it probably won’t prevent them from buying it. Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ll watch them every one in awhile. Sometimes it’s how I find out about new books. I think the difference between them and movie trailers though is we already know what the stars look like for the most part. They’re not going to change much depending on the movie and character. However, with books, like you said, we imagine our own characters and sometimes trailers can throw that off.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

