Rogue by Katy Evans

Melanie and Greyson meet in a rainstorm. They flirt, they get wet, and then they proceed to a hotel where they have sex until the sun rises the next day. Just goes to show the power of a good ole’ fashioned rainstorm.

What’s it About?

rogue

Greyson King…My boyfriend. My friend. My protector. He’s the reason I wake up every morning with a smile on my face, and the reason I fall asleep limp, worn out, and aching for his warm arms around me. When we make love, he says my name like it means something. Like I mean something. He. Lied.

His name is Greyson King, but his alias is Zero. There’s zero trace of him, he has zero past, and now I know that with him, I will have zero future. He may leave no trace of him anywhere, but his imprint is in me, in my very soul–and I hate that a mere look at him commands the beat of my heart. The temperature of my body. I’ve looked for love my entire life. I’ve waited for the butterflies, the rainbows…

Instead I’m in a free fall of emotions and there’s no one to catch me but the one man I should be running away from. The one man I thought was my prince charming. Except this prince charming went rogue. Greyson will stop at nothing to make me be with him. He’ll let no one stand in our way, will allow no one to threaten me, and maybe this is what scares me most of all…What will my rogue do to keep me?

First Impressions

The first three books in this series dealt with the tumultuous relationship between good girl Brooke, and the devastatingly handsome fighter, Remington “Riptide” Tate. I’ll admit, it was almost jarring to suddenly be presented with a different couple as the main focus of the novel. Yes, they had interesting stories to tell, and were unique characters, but it took me a while to really open up to them.

confused

His and Her

The telling of the story from both characters’ points of view was probably the standout feature for me. We see how both characters are falling quickly in lust with each other, yet they are both hiding some dark secrets. Melanie owes a large debt of money to an underground crime organization after losing a bet on Remington’s last fight. Greyson is the debt collector, and his dying father expects him to use whatever means necessary to collect what is owed to them. Such a delightfully intriguing story. We know it’s only a matter of time before Melanie finds out the truth to Greyson’s identity, and the suspense is rather delicious.

hzaJ4Hn.png

 

Don’t Gamble!

I really enjoyed the fact that Melanie’s debt is sort of what makes her and Greyson’s paths collide. That being said, the matter of the debt also annoyed me at times. At one point, a friend of Melanie’s offers to pay off her debt as the deadline to pay is quickly approaching, and he feels responsible for having encouraged her to bet on the fight in the first place. And Melanie refuses!

no.gif

Now, I know that Judge Judy would say that accepting large amounts of money from a friend is stupid, but when the alternative is to be kidnapped and possibly raped or murdered? Sometimes it’s ok to swallow your pride and just accept some help.

judgejudy

Series: Real, book 4.

Should you read it? Definitely an interesting story, which technically ties into the previous novels. However, I felt like it could have been a spin-off series. Personally, I would have enjoyed more integration of the characters from the previous novels.

Smut Level: Ahh, l’amour. It’s all about building trust. They do this by having anal and bareback sex. Adorable.

Get it on Amazon: Click Here. $8.99 Kindle Price. Gallery Books. 321 Pages.

One thought on “Rogue by Katy Evans

Leave a Reply

