Reasonable Doubt Series by Whitney G.

A man who’s just looking for a one-night stand. A woman who wants to pursue her dreams rather than what her parents have destined her to do. When they come together? Two very strong-willed lead characters who need to burn off some steam between the sheets. Or up against a wall. Or on a bathroom sink. So much for one night!

What’s it About?

reasonable-doubt

My cock has an appetite. A huge and very particular appetite: Blonde, curvy, and preferably not a fucking liar…(Although, that’s a story for another day.) As a high profile lawyer, I don’t have time to waste on relationships, so I fulfill my needs by anonymously chatting and sleeping with women I meet online. My rules are simple: One dinner. One night. No repeats. This is only casual sex. Nothing more. Nothing less.

At least it was, until “Alyssa”…She was supposed to be a 27 year old lawyer, a book hoarder, and completely unattractive. She was supposed to be someone I shared law advice with late at night, someone I could trust with details of my weekly escapades. But then she came into my firm for an interview–a college-intern interview, and everything fucking changed…

First Impressions

Going into this series, I had little to no expectations. I gave it a go because it seemed like A) it’d be a quick read, and B) it’d be sexy as hell with some good dirty talk. Now, that was definitely a true assessment, especially when it came to book 1. Not a whole lot of substance, but it held my interest, and ended on a cliffhanger. By the third book though I was shocked to discover that I was actually invested in not only the story line, but the characters as well. Was it a perfect series? No, but there’s definitely more depth and feeling to this series than you’d initially think.

giphy

Books 1-3

Book 1 is the set up. Aubrey and Andrew know each other by different names from online. When they meet in person, Andrew decides to punish her for being dishonest about her true identity…by screwing her repeatedly? Meh, whatever floats your boat.

man-and-woman-in-office-romance

In my opinion, I could have done away with book 2. At this point in the story, Aubrey will do anything to push Andrew away and he refuses to admit he has any feelings for her. Throughout most of the book I found their antics to be rather childish. In addition, we get multiple hints that something tragic happened in Andrew’s past, but this book just draws it all out without revealing anything. Like book 1, the second novel also ends on a cliffhanger.

cliffhanger

Book 3 is where everything comes together! I was also shocked at the fact that Andrew’s secret story damn near drove me to tears. A great ending to the series for sure.

Too Little Too Late?

One fault that I found in this series was how the truth of Andrew’s past was revealed. It was a tragic story, but I think the author waited a smidgen too long in revealing it to the audience. Andrew has always been about one night hook-ups. He comes to treat Aubrey pretty terribly in order to convince himself that he’s not emotionally attached to her. Although we get clues that something in his past made him this way, he says so many awful things to Aubrey that you can’t help but think it doesn’t matter what happened, the dude’s an asshole.

lemme-at-him

It isn’t until almost the very end of the third and final book that we find out the whole tragic story in one throwback chapter. Then it’s like “Ohhhhh, it all makes sense!” But it was almost too little too late in order for you to completely change your opinion of the standoffish male lead. I think it would have been a lot better if book 2 wasn’t in the way of us finding out the truth.

Series: Reasonable Doubt, books 1-3.

Should you read it? It’s a quick read for a series, but I realize it’s definitely not for everyone. You could always give book 1 a try, after all it’s only 88 pages. If it’s not for you, so long, farewell. If you find it intriguing in any way, you might as well give the series a try. It pays off in the end!

Smut Level: This isn’t just a dirty read, it can be downright filthy. No exaggeration there. Consider yourself warned!

Get it on Amazon: Click Here. $4.99 Kindle Price. WGW. 313 Total Pages.

Leave a Reply

